Thursday, May 8, 2014

Outstanding Student Ceremony held at Missouri Theater

The 2014 Outstanding Student Ceremony was held Wednesday, May 7 at the Historic Missouri Theater. Columbia Area Career Center sponsors the event in conjunction with its partner in education, MU Administrative Services. It recognizes the top student from each career center program. The Outstanding Student designation is the highest honor the career center awards. Students are nominated by their instructors based on grades, course work, work habits and attendance. Nominated students submit an application, resume and essay in addition to being interviewed by personnel from the University of Missouri. The process is part of the career center model of college and career readiness. The Outstanding Student ceremony recognizes finalists  in each category with the winner being announced while on stage. Each nominee received a flash drive with the MU Administrative Services logo and the Outstanding Student is awarded a plaque bearing their name and the program they represent by Paul Toler, Director of MU Business Services.

Check out the photos on Facebook.

Several scholarship recipients were also named.
 Big O Tire Scholarship
Jonathon "Scotty" Johnson

Arden Boyer-Stephens Scholarships
Maddie Grant
Katy Shi

 Martha A. Rayl Scholarship
John "Chormaic" Sullivan

Hummert Horticulture Award
Alan Rees

Outstanding Student winners:

Civil Engineering and Architecture: Joseph Reneker
Advanced Civil Engineering and Architecture: Eilish Matthews
Culinary Arts: Alexis Miller
Advanced Culinary Arts/Baking and Pastry: Chormaic Sullivan
Greenhouse Production:  Ben Geyer
Floral and Plant Design: Saja Necibi
Animal and Veterinary  Science: Carly Raetz
Advanced Animal Science: Katie Weir
Advanced Welding and Project Fabrication: Austin Wallace
Welding Technology and Agriculture Mechanics: Monica Strawn
Small Engine Technology: Rich Dao
Exploring Agricultural Science: Aaron Mott
Wildlife, Conservation and Forestry: Maddie Grant
Construction Technology: Jacob Toler
Advanced Teaching Professions: Shelby Slate-Griggs
Teaching Professions: Morgan Atterberry
Core Essentials of Fire Fighting and Public Safety: Taylor Stewart
Emergency Medical Technician: Haley Benson
Web Design and Web Scripting: Michelle Algya
Digital Video and Motion Graphics: David Hodges
Graphic Design and Desktop Publishing: Kristen Buster
Digital Media:  Dzung Nguyen
Information Technology: Greg Kelly
Geospatial Analysis: Jon Antel
Geospatial Technology: Michael Rhodenbaugh
A+IT Essentials: Andrew Krall
Advanced Computer Programming: Mingu Kim
Computer Programming: Alexander Gittemeier
Advanced Electronics and Robotics: Jacob Blackmore
Robotics: Josie Miller
Electronic Essentials and Electronics 1: Brady Hughes
PLTW-Introduction to Engineering Design: Gillian Schulte
PLTW-Principles of Engineering: Reagan Dugan
Advanced Computer Aided Design: Zacharey Lolley
Computer Aided Design: Maddy Mueller
Photonics: Jacob Andreasen
Laser Technology: Jared Richardson
Certified Welding/Advanced Certified Welding: Eric Millar
Automotive Technology: Jacob Crum
Advanced Broadcast Journalism: Alyssa Piecko
Broadcast Journalism: Evann Twitchell
Professions in Healthcare: Comfort Awosanmi
Laboratory Exploration: Julia Hill
Laboratory Foundations: Jenny Zulovich
PLTW-Principles of Biomedical Science: Lisa Zhuang
PLTW-Human Body Systems: Bri Arnett
Entrepreneurship: Alexander Parks
Advanced Marketing: Jack Schimpf
Marketing: Loyal Carpenter

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please keep your comments respectful and relevant. We screen before publishing comments.